This project is read-only.

Huge Log file after pull (solved)

Nov 12, 2012 at 1:45 PM

I do git tf pull on a tfs repo

then by accident I found that there is 3 huge files in .git/logs directory ( each 2GB)

are those files OK? or this is a bug

I use version 2.0.0.20121030

Nov 12, 2012 at 7:13 PM

Hello,

Were these log files created by the pull ? or they might have been there before ?

Thanks,

Youhana

Nov 13, 2012 at 9:04 AM
youhanaNaseim wrote:

Were these log files created by the pull ? or they might have been there before ?

Hello youhana,

the files were not there before the pull, I'm sure.

the files are created in :

MyProjectWC/.git/logs/HEAD (2 GB)
MyProjectWC/.git/logs/refs/heads/master (2 GB)
MyProjectWC/.git/logs/remotes/origin_tfs/tfs (2 GB)
git --version 1.8.0.msysgit.0
git config --get core.logallrefupdates true

also I found that despite I extracted the new version (2.0.0.20121030) but still git tf --version returns '1.0.1.20120827'

the files are dated as '10/30/2012 10:57 AM' but the --version says something else !!!

Thanks

Nov 13, 2012 at 9:33 AM
Edited Nov 13, 2012 at 11:47 AM

Oh,

I deleted old files:

git-tf\lib\com.microsoft.gittf.client.clc-1.0.1.20120827.jar
git-tf\lib\com.microsoft.gittf.core-1.0.1.20120827.jar

 

and git tf --version were fixed to '2.0.0.20121030'

should try again pull to check huge files issue

EDIT :

After fixing git-tf version, everything got right :)

I would replace the old extracted 'git-tf' with the new one instead of overwriting it

Nov 13, 2012 at 7:01 PM

Can you please try again, I am interested to see if the log files are a result of the pull. It would be great if you can also compare the result between:

1) "Git tf pull"

2) "Git tf fetch" , then execute "Git merge Fetch_head"

if this still repros with the "Git tf pull" can you try executing "git status" afterwards and see if this handles the files ?

Thanks,

Youhana

Nov 15, 2012 at 7:56 AM

I have tested again and all things was right with version 2.0, both "git tf clone" and "git tf fetch" then merge

I think the problem was because of a conflict between the old version 1.0.1 and the new version 2.0. As I didn't deleted the old version, I was just overwritten its directory with the new one

I think it should be mentioned in install guide that the old version must be deleted completely, not just overwritten

Thanks